Westfields Sports

_______________________________________________________________   First In Australia


23rd June 2001 ---------------------------------------Athletics Page 8

Westfields Sports Fly Jai
In For
Athletics Club Presentation Night

Jai happily signs autographs
Dan Suchy
Dan Suchy Aust Sports Medal
Jai & John
Jai & John Thornell
----------------Westfields Sports flew Jai Taurima from his busy training schedule at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra to be special guest at the 2001 Westfields Athletics Club Presentation Night.
----------------Jai was a humble, yet inspirational speaker and answered numerous questions as well as signing posters and T-shirts.
----------------The 2000 Olympics Silver medallist for the long jump had the honour of announcing the male and female 'athletes of the year'.
----------------Jai Taurima's attendance at the WAC Presentation Night created much interest and the function room at the Cabramatta Rugby Leagues Club was packed with 170 Westfields athletes, parents, supporters and guests.
----------------Among the special guests were Kieth Connor - Australian Head Coach and 1984 Olympic Bronze medallist, David Tarbotton - Athletics NSW Media Officer, and Steve Want - owner of the Sports Factory just to name a few.

Awards presented included

---------Male Athlete of the year ------------------------------- Female Athlete of the year
--------------John Thornell ------------------------------- -----------------Shannon Hill

New life members

-------------John Fanella ---------------Sharyn Dickson ---------------Phil Tucker

Australian Sports Medal
----Dan Suchy

Age Champions
Sam Hall ------------------ (boys 12) Marc Schofield ------------ (boys 13) Robert Boateng ------------ (boys 14)
Isaac Simon -------------- (boys 15) John Thornell ------------- (boys 16) Aaron Warburton --------- (boys 17)
Fabrice Lapierre ------- (boys 18) Mark Dickson -------------(boys 19) Candice Morley -------------(girls 13)
Rebecca Papadopoulos-(girls 15) Corinne Archer----------- (girls 16) Sharyn Dickson ------------(girls 17)
Shannon Hill -------------(girls 18)

National Champions
John Thornell Fabrice Lapierre, Rebecca Papadopoulos
Ashleigh Payne Paul Stickler Kylie Wildman

National Medallists
Scott Burriss Joven Clarke Kate Connolly Aaron Mellor Aaron Warburton
Shannon Hill Sharyn Dickson Ryan Mormul Mark Dickson Dani Samuels
Darren Breckon . Irayne Omoregbee . Michael Ogilvie

State Medallists
Hayley Cameron Isaac Simon Robert Boateng Josh Poulton Ben Poulton
Candice Morley Trent Hobbs Corinne Archer Matthew Russell Peter Turner
Candice Pertel Lisa Abbott Lindsay Pye Taegan Coddington Matthew Outzen
Shawn Condon Nathan McKay Marc Schofield Christie Harrison Michael Russell
Rory Lang Nicole Harrison Donna Cranshaw Adam Stone Piotrek Paciej
Vien Chanthavong Angelo Vasilopoulos Andrew Semple Kristy Radnidge Andrew Katalinic
Jessie-Lee Lottey Lisa Sunnucks Kerry Rodziewicz Conor Siebel Sam Smith
Shivanthi Siva Brett Jones Tyson Anaki Greg Koliopoulos Tara Swinfield
Melinda Vidigal Sam Hall Krystal Pertel Aiden Hobbs Erin Turner
Aimee Jeffery

Special Achievement Award
Kristen Truscott
(University Scholarship USA)
Coming soon to the Westfields Athletics Web pages: Our 20 National medallist profiles.
Index Page
Home Contents Index About-Us Credits Information Links News Publications Search Sports Staff Students.Work Year 12

Copyright 1999-2003 Westfields Sports . All TradeMarks belong to their Owners.